Week 11 – Looking back at the term

For this past week, I reworked the mosquito sound and implemented it into the game. I also programmed the randomization of the suck spots and giving it a time to change over a period of 20 seconds. Other than that, I went over the check list and checked off whatever was finished during the weekend. There wasn’t really much for me to work on since other team members have the remaining tasks left.

  • Mosquito buzzing sound (1 hr)
  • Suck spot randomization ( 1 hr)

 

POSITIVE

I feel like the team has learned quite a bit from working on this game. Jal learnt a lot with networking and other programming tricks. Zheng, Ning and Josh had a good amount of tricks that they encountered with creating assets for games. Teslim did a great job on the GUI designs and sound. Ethan was very helpful with game design and putting assets and sound in the game. Anna did great in managing the team.

What Went wrong

It took awhile for the game to be made and have a playable build. Some part is my fault since I did not have a clear vision of what the game should look like in the early stages of production. The scope in the beginning was also very large which kind of made a road block to my decisions of what I really wanted and deciding what the core mechanics of the game is. I have learned quite a bit about game designing through this experience. Team communication wasn’t really strong as well as we worked. It got better through the weeks but there were still miscommunications almost every week. Networking is also another huge issue since we constantly have synchronization problems.

WHAT have i learned?

I learned that doing game design is a lot of work and you have to be really clear in your documentation what exactly you want the game to be. I feel like things would be a lot better if I was able to decide things in the early stages but that is too late to regret about it now. Also, communication is very crucial like always and it is bad to assume things.

If I can go back in time and redo this term again, I would be more decisive of things and really sit down and hash out what will be the best for the game and for team members.

Week 11 – Looking back at the term

Leave a comment